We built CityGrows to help make government workflows (permits, licenses, and internal processes) work better and go faster. One of the ways we do that is by automatically creating many of the status updates and email notifications that have to be done manually without a system like ours. Here's a list of all the automatic emails generated by our system. We've included links to the relevant Support docs for each type of email if you'd like more information on any of the associated features.

Please remember that you can add additional custom emails at the beginning or end of any step of your workflow, but you don't need to duplicate the emails that you see below, the platform will send them on your behalf.

Emails that go to admins AND applicants:

Discussion opened/ discussion comment added

Who receives: Applicant and all admins on a workflow
When: Each time a Discussion is opened or added to
What: Includes Discussion content
Can you turn it on/ off: No

Step approval, changes requested, or partial step approval with comment

Who receives: Applicant and all admins on a workflow
When: When a Review step is completed, when a Reviewer requests changes, or when a reviewer approves and adds a comment, or when a process is rejected/ halted.
Can you turn it off? No

Emails to applicants only:

All applicant emails include the Team (government or department) name in the header, along with the title of the Workflow. Applicants receive emails when:

Emails to survey participants only (if a survey is sent to specific recipients)

  • Invitation to complete survey
  • Reminder to complete survey
  • Confirmation that survey response was received

Emails to admins/ Reviewers only - joining Workflows or Teams:

Invitation to join a workflow as an admin or a reviewer 

Who receives: Person you invite to be an admin/ reviewer
When: When you invite them in Permissions as an admin or by adding them as a Reviewer
What: Sends an email to tell them that you’ve invited them to join the workflow. Includes workflow name. (If a Reviewer, also includes the Review group name).
Can you turn it on/ off? No
Is it customizable: No

Invitation to join a Team

Who receives: Person you invite to be a Team member
When: When you invite them in on the Team settings page
What: Sends an email to tell them that you’ve invited them to join the Team. Includes Team name.
Can you turn it on/ off? No
Is it customizable: No

Note: CityGrows automatically sends three reminder emails (after 2 days, one week, and 2 weeks) to people who have been invited to the platform but who haven’t accepted their invitation. If you add them to additional workflows or review steps, they’ll get additional emails about those new workflows, but they can’t use anything until they confirm their account by following the link in the email, or creating a new account with the same email address used for the invite.

Emails to reviewers only - Reviews:

Ready for Review

Who receives: The person or people who are listed as Review group members, or a 3rd party reviewer added during a process
When: When the process is ready for them to review
What: Lets them know it’s time to review, includes link to process and identifier field. For 3rd party reviewers, includes more information about the specific process and the requester name.
Can you Turn off? No

Emails to workflow admins only - Assignment:

Assignment to a specific process

Who receives: The person who has been assigned
When: When they’re added via an Assign someone step or via the Menu Assignment feature (whether you were already a general admin or if you were added to this specific process).
Can you turn it off? No

Emails to Team members only - payments and charges:

Payout sent

Who receives: Team members
When: Each time a payout is made from your Stripe account to your government bank account:
What: Includes date, amount of payout, link to detailed transaction data.
Can you turn off? No

Charge dispute received

Who receives: Team members only (?)
When: When Stripe notifies us that a credit card charge is being disputed by an applicant
What: Sends an email letting you know a dispute has been filed, with link to Transaction so that you can submit evidence to win the dispute.
Can you turn off? No

Emails to admins only - Dashboard and Workflow Actions:

Export status

Who receives: Person who started a data export
When: if the export is successful or if it fails
What: Confirms whether export was successful and notifies that it’s ready to download if it was completed.
Can you turn off? No

Import complete

Who receives: the person who started the import
When: When an import of historical process data or Organizations is completed
What: Import completion notification
Can you turn it off? No

Organization edit request

Who receives: Workflow admins
When: When an applicant suggests a change to organization data (if a workflow is using the Organization field type, and has the ability for applicants to suggest edits to Organization data, AND the admin has selected that they must approve all data changes to Organizations)
What: Includes information on which information the applicant is suggesting to change
Can you turn off? No, if you have Organizations set to allow applicants to suggest edits.

Emails to admins only - optional (default is Off in Email Settings)

Step advancement

When: A process moves from one step to the next
Who receives: Admins on a workflow
What: Notifies that the process has advanced from one step to the next, and includes information about who advanced it, will soon include identifier field and more detail
Can you turn it on/off? Yes, in Settings - default is “Off.”
Is it customizable: No

Process started

Who receives: Admins
When: An applicant hits the Start button and signs in to CityGrows or creates a new account (does not necessarily mean they have completed the first step of workflow).
Can you turn it on/off? Yes, in Settings- default is “Off.”
Is it customizable: No

Process completion 

Who receives: Admin
When: The last step in the process is completed
What: Sends an email to notify that a process has been completed, and includes information about who did it
Can you turn it on/ off? Yes, in settings - default is “Off”
Is it customizable: No

 

 

 

 

 

 

Did this answer your question?